The simple building established 1687 from Giovanni Delai. After a collapse a new consecration took place in 1693 . A splendourful iron lattice separates on the inside the visitor from the sister
The church of the saint Valentin is located by the side of the road from Chiusa to Villandro. It is a single-nave construction with a presbytery and a lateral spire. In 1303 the church was mentioned the first time, though it burned down around 1400. During the reconstruction the church received the impressive gothic stellar vault instead of the flat ceiling. The altar inside is a splendid carved work and displays the bishop saint Valentin. Frescos at the west façade, which depict mother Anne with Mary Baby Jesus, are valuable art property. The figures are petite with a soft and round arrangement of the folds. Around 1400 the so called beautiful and soft style reached Tyrol and the patterned halos and picture frames with geometric adornment were characteristics of the style.
The Cantina Valle Isarco was founded in 1961. The simple production hall originally built in 1978 was restructured in 2005 in order to separate the operational functions and to give the building an appropriate new appearance. The new part of the building made of concrete and the remaining structure were brought together by a unifying grey-red plaster shell, which symbolizes the connection to the terroir. Many steel components were given an oxide red shading, a color chosen to make the building look like a stone that has risen up amongst the vineyards. A brick ceiling now covers the barrique cellar, and the walls are covered in clay plaster. The offices and meeting rooms were renovated and refurnished; bright colors now accentuate the rooms. To round this all off, the tasting and sales room was redesigned in 2014, and an educational exhibit on wine was added as well.
After 1200 bishop Konrad von Rodank established a house, in order to be able to offer travelers accommodation and care - therefore the name "Hospital Church". After numerous floodings only and alone the small, round place of worship kept until today.
An alley leads to the church between the Steinbock inn and the village smith. The alley is called “Defregger-alley” due to the fact that the history painter Franz von Defregger (1835-1921) used this idyllic subject as a background for his famous painting “Das letzte Aufgebot – the last array”. This alley, which depicts the ensemble of both churches and the cemetery, was left unchanged in the last 500 years.
The church is mentioned for the first time in the year 1208. The today lategothical building was implemented by the master Benedikt Weibhauser from Brixen and inaugurated in the year 1494. On the inside a leaflet explains the building history of the church and the artistic equipement.
The sun terrace of Velturno has been visited and populated for more than 7000 years. As the excavation of the Tanzgasse showed, the area was of particular significance during the late Copper Age, around the 3rd Millennium BC: the megalithic structure, which formed the central part of this place of worship with its grave mounds, stretches across the visible area of the Archeoparc. The standing stones that were found within this place of worship offer the chance to place the rest of the megalithic findings within the South Tyrol into a monumental context and to interpret their historical significance. The results of the analyses of the often small plant and animal remnants, but also of non-organic matter, open up insights into everyday prehistoric life.
The Holy Trinity Church in Kollmann was previously called the customs chapel and was connected to the customs office by a wooden walkway. The church itself was built around 1588 and nearly destroyed by a fire in 1938. In the meantime, it has been renovated. It is open from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m. Holy Mass: Sunday at 8:30 clock or 10:00 clock (german)
The church belonging to the parish Lazfons, once a Roman, was in the 15th Century Gothic style and received its present from in the 17th Century.
The castle was build in the 14th century. The lock was seat of the former court of Gufidaun. 1880 the well-known Germanist Ignaz Zingerle bought the expanded castle plant and today she is still inhabited by its descendants and cannot be visited.
The lake Totensee, literally "lake of death" is less threatening than its name suggests.
The lake is located in a hollow below the well-known Chapple Totenkirchl. Surrounded by boulders and meadows, it is situated at an altitude of 2200 m. The macabre name comes from the agricultural expression "dead", which can be interpreted as unprofitable.
In 1726 a little church was dedicated to the miners of the “Pfunderer” mine. However, it was immediately too small so that today’s construction of the Early Baroque with choir and little tower was built in 1736. The secluded little church was expanded in 1934, though plundered and devastated in 1964. Until the First Wold War there had have been a weekly mass, initially Saturdays, since 1840 every Thursday. The cultural and historical altarpiece is a replica, the original altarpiece is located in the parish church to the St. Stephen. It shows the miners at work and around them the saints of the miners. (St. Daniel, evangelist John, Virgin Mother with the baby Jesus and her mother the saint Anne, as well as patron saint of the mines Barbara)
Twenty minutes on Feldthurns is free on hilltop of St. George in Schnauders, a beautiful small building of the later Gothic, first attested in the 14th century. Your current form received this church partly in the 16th and partly in the 19th century. Interior and exterior renovated in 2007.
Dear Woman Church The building was established by Giacomo Delai between 1652 and 1658. On the inside on can admire the cover paintings of the baroque painter Stefan Kessler, magnificent stucco works of Francesco Carlone and Simon Delai.
This church is open to visiti from july to septembre every tuesday, friday and saturday from 2 to 5 pm. In octobre to mid of novembre is open only on friday and saturday from 2 to 5 pm.
The little church of the saint Mauritius in Sauders is situated to the south of the village centre. The church was mentioned the first time in an official document in 1406. Around 1670 the little church was converted in a baroque style. However, the church and some surrounding houses were burned to ashes by the French in 1793. Nowadays, the painting at the high altar represents the patron saint of the church. The key for a visit can be received at the “Winklerhof – farm”.
The parish church exhibits worth seeing works: the high altar from 1884, side altars from 1903, the pulpit from 1867 and the Queen of the Rosary from the Baroque period around 1700. A high artistic value has also the oil painting of Franz Sebald Unterberger which represents the St. Stephen, as well as the glass painting with the subject of the miners of Villandro in 1520.
The gothical building was established between 1467 and 1470 of master Jörg. From the outside on recognize the simple portal, the small pyramid-shaped ridge turret and that gothical five-eighth choir with the four windows.
The gothical building was established between 1467 and 1470 of master Jörg. From the outside on recognize the simple portal, the small pyramid-shaped ridge turret and that gothical five-eighth choir with the four windows. Inside the church you can find some informations about the building history and the artistic equipment.
On the way to Säben is on the way, the St. Anthony Chapel, built in 1670 at the instigation of the telltale Jerome and his wife. The chapel was restored in the Tyrolean commemorative 1984. The altarpiece in the early Baroque high altar dates from Nicholas squint.
The church of Barbian was built in the 13th century consecrated to the apostle and patron Saint Jacob. Today the only remaining of the old church is he bell tower. The church was constructed in a Romanesque style and in the year 1472 it obtained Gothic elements. In 1874 – 1877 the Neo-Romanesque nave was added to the Gothic main body (today’s sacristy). The inclination of the campanile is attributed to the different grounding on which the tower was built. The half on the downhill side lies on the unstable soil of the Central Uplands and the other half on solid quartz-phillite-rocks. Ing. Fulvio Pisetta carried out a mechanical intervention in 1985 – 1988 to assure the stability of the church tower. Height: 37,00 metres Inclination: 1,56 metres
One wrote the year 1494 as the young artist ALBRECHT DÜRER made a stop in Klausen during his Italy journey. Today a beautiful walk leads to these slopes from Klausen. From this promising place the painter drew the city of Klausen. The result of its feather was lost later, but a copper engraving "Das große Glück" ( the great fortune) is delivered: Klausen calls itself also the "Small Dürer Town": Who wants to visit this place, goes today to the "Dürerstein".
Another important attraction was not created by builders but by nature: the Barbian waterfalls. The Ganderbach (stream), which is near Kollmann and flows into the Eisack river, which has a length of almost 6 kilometres. At the point of 1,510 metres above sea level, the stream falls over several rock cliffs down into the valley. The lower part of the waterfall with his 85 metres is the highest of the waterfalls at Barbian. From here, you can reach the upper part of the waterfall on a marked, wild and romantic path.
The mountain mine in Villanders was one of the most important mining areas in Tyrol during the Middle Ages and is now one of the few mines in South Tyrol that is open to the public as a visitors ‘attraction. Explore the labyrinth of tunnels and immerse yourself in the fascinating mining history of Villanders, which goes back centuries.
The Villanders mine had a total of 16 tunnels covering an area of about 20 km, two-thirds of which were dug by hand and one-third with the use of explosives (black powder).
The extracted materials were: silver, lead (galena), copper and blende. The advancement of a miner, between 8 and 12 m per year, was performed mainly on his knees or supine. At the discovery of a mineral deposit of greater size it was necessary to enlarge the tunnel for the transport of minerals and waste rock. The average life of a miner was between 35 and 40 years.
Opening hours:
TUNNEL ELISABETH
Guided tour
- Tuesday and Thursday at 10:30 a.m. and 2:30 p.m.
- Sunday at 10:30
- Meeting point at the tunnel Elisabeth
- Duration: approx. 1,5 h
ELISABETH AND LORENZ TUNNELS
Guided tours
- in July & August on Wednesdays at 10:30 a.m.
- Meeting point at the tunnel Elisabeth
- Duration: approx. 2,5 h
- In the months of July and August there is also a guidance on Wednesday at 10:30.
More information about the Silver Mine: https://bergwerk.it/
Brown, marshy ground surrounds the three Schwarzseen (black lakes), which lie below the Toten. All around you can admire the abandoned mines with galleries and slagheaps, and the imposing peak of Villanderer Berg rising into the sky. The single lakes of the black-lakes-formation are called black, white and blue lake.
The parish church of Barbian is consecrated to St. Jacobs the Elder and was first mentioned in 1378. The shapes of the windows of the leaning tower are evidence to an even earlier time. Its octagonal top was added during the 15th Century. During this time, the church was renovated and once more consecrated in 1472. In 1874, the nave was re-designed and received in a new-roman form. The vestry, which serves as choir stalls, is the only part left, to represent the old gothic buildings. On the inside of the church, on the main altar, there is a copy of the famous crucifixion group by Wechselburg, as well as 12 glass windows representing the apostles, a rosette window just above the main entrance and several wooden sculptures from the 16th and 17th Centuries.
Open from 8 a.m. to 7 p.m.
Holy Mass: To Sunday 03/16/2014 at 10.00 clock, alternately at 8:00 clock (german) and Saturday at 19:30 clock (german).
The building consists of lightweight walls, which are lined with rough chestnut wood slats and girded by retaining walls and ceilings made of exposed concrete. The concrete slabs, formed using coarse plywood formwork, were skilfully embedded into the terrain so that the building is harmoniously nestled into the steep slope. The rooms for filling, packaging and maturation are located completely underground, which has an added advantageous cooling effect. The tasting and sales room is glazed floor to ceiling and the chestnut wood battens in front of the window provide a visible filter. Natural materials, such as clay plaster, black plate, slate floor and oiled wood, characterise the room. The sparse furnishings with bar tables and a service line help to keep the focus on the essentials - the wines. Light shines diffusely from above, yet into the room in a targeted manner. From the tasting room, small peepholes offer an insight into the "holy of holies," the vintage cellar. Here the best wines are matured and skilfully presented. The considerate care for the landscape and the selected natural materials also reflect Garlider's philosophy in the production of organic wines.
The impressive castle stands above Waidbruck/Ponte Gardena. Interesting interior, patly with original furniture. An exhibition shows the life of Oswald von Wolkenstein
Trostburg is open to the public
from the Thursday before Easter until the end of October. A visit is only possible with a guided tour. Trostburg is closed on Mondays.Season Start of the tour Thursday before Eastern until end of June 11 a.m., 2 p.m. and 3 p.m. July and August 11 a.m., 12 a.m., 2 p.m., 3 p.m. and 4 p.m. September until end of October 11 a.m., 2 p.m. and 3 p.m. The guided visit through the castle takes around 40 – 50 minutes.