Dříve reprezentativní obytná budova šlechtických dam a pánů nebo pevný hrad a místo obrany – dnes díky pečlivé obnově vzrušující muzeum, kouzelný hotel, jedinečná restaurace nebo místo pro akce. I když některé hrady nebo pevnosti lze navštívit už jen jako ruiny, všechny tyto veřejně přístupné zdi vyprávějí jedinečný příběh.
You will soon find more information about the St. Catherine’s Chapel and the manor house Gurten here.
You will soon find more information about Josele mill in Gfrill/Caprile here
The Herbst Castle is named after the Brothers Kaspar and Christoph Herbst who built the Castle in 1500. In 1511, the Herbst Castle was used as a residence by Emperor Maximilian I.
Visits available only from the outside.
The complex was bought in 1500 by the brothers Kaspar and Christoph Herbst zu Herbstenburg and rebuilt into a fortified complex. It was the center of a fortified complex that extended through underground passages to the so-called "Red Tower" in the northwestern part of the village. In the cellars of the castle were the prisons of the Dobbiaco court.
In the years 1508 to 1511 the castle was the seat of the court quarters of Emperor Maximilian I of Habsburg. It was there that in 1511 the decision was made to wage war against the Republic of Venice.
A steep path starts near the "Carabinieri" training centre in Vallunga and heads up to the castle ruins. Built at the beginning of the 13th century, it collapsed in 1525 and has never been rebuilt. It has been owned by the Wolkenstein family since the 14th century. Oswald von Wolkenstein, a famous minstrel and poet born in South Tyrol between 1376 and 1387, died in Merano 1445, probably spent his summers in the castle.
Access at your own risk. Children under 14 must be accompanied by an adult.
TSCHETTERLOCH
At the path between the so-called Bärenfalle and the Sciliar mountain you can see a small hole, which scales up to a hidden hall. In there you can find a large rock which looks like a table and chairs. According to the legends a forest ghost, wild men and other mystic figures lived in this cave.
The ascent to the cave is only possible with an appropriate equipment.
THALERBÜHEL
There was a sample excavation at the Thalerbühel hill to search for a past hillfort. They found some ceramics, bronze artefacts and burned bones, which indicates that the hill has been a sacrificing place in the first millenium B.C.
You will soon find more information about the Perlmühle mill here.
The castle was built between 1622 and 1641 by Engelhard Dietrich von Wolkenstein-Trostburg. It is located between Selva and S.Cristina and was used as a summer and hunting lodge. In 1863, Count Leopold von Wolkenstein-Trostburg granted the castle to S.Cristina municipality to transform it into a almshouse. The castle has been owned by the Franchetti Barons since 1926, and it is currently closed to the public.
The legend of the King Laurin
A long time ago at the Catinaccio was the King Laurin.
The hard-working dwarfs lived there. One day the King esposed his daughter Similde with another King of the Adige. All the noble people were invited but he does not. So he decided to go on this competition with a magic hood as a invisible guest to see his beautiful Similde. He saw her and fell in love with Similde.
The King took her on his horse and rode away. Similde's husband and his cavaliers was searching her. King Laurin knew that they are coming so he took the miracle belt to got more power. They fight each other and the King saw that he has no chance. So he decide to take his magic hood again and to jump throw the Catinaccio. The cavaliers saw the movement of the roses and captured him.
He was so angry that the Catinaccio betrayed him, so he cursed them: Neither day nor night should anyone ever see him. Laurin forgot the dusk and so it comes that today we can see it with his blooming roses for a short time...
Ansitz Heufler by Norbert Niederkofler
Ansitz Heufler, located in the picturesque Antholz Valley in South Tyrol, is a historic manor house dating back to 1580. Built by the noble family Hohenbühel zu Heufler, the estate is regarded as an outstanding example of Renaissance architecture and has been carefully preserved to maintain its historical value.
The wood-paneled rooms on the first floor are among the most atmospheric in the entire region—most notably the historic “Hearnstube”, adorned with an intricately crafted ceramic stove bearing the Heufler family coat of arms. Celebrated as one of the most beautiful parlors in all of Tyrol, it impressively blends artisan craftsmanship with living tradition.
On the door to the Hearnstube, one can see a fine engraving of the south façade of Ansitz Heufler: a square, three-story structure surrounded by four diagonally positioned corner towers with characteristic gabled roofs.
The old “Rauchkuchl”, now transformed into a stylish lounge bar, was once a traditional open kitchen where food was cooked and smoked over an open flame or in a smoke channel – a method that added rich flavor and ensured long preservation.
Among the most distinctive architectural features are the bay windows and the towers themselves, all topped with steep gabled roofs. The large windows on the first floor are decorated with finely wrought iron grilles, adorned with elegant floral motifs.
Today, Ansitz Heufler presents itself as a refined residence offering luxurious hospitality and culinary excellence. Guests are immersed in a unique experience where historical charm meets modern comfort – an authentic journey back in time through the preserved spirit of an ancient noble home.
Since May 2025, the estate has been led by South Tyrolean Three Michelin Star chef Norbert Niederkofler, who has breathed new life into the residence, infusing it with his signature philosophy, “Cook the Mountain”. Ansitz Heufler features 10 rooms, a public restaurant, and a bar with a scenic terrace.
Centuries ago Dobbiaco’s waters were used by craftsmen and in mills. The historic melting furnace at the Klauskofel in the Val di Landro shows how people in those days used the power of the water to melt ores.
Modern usage of hydro power is demonstrated using the example of a power station.
Further information on Dobbiaco’s Water treasures
The St. Catherine church in Aica di Fiè was originally dedicated to St. Michael.
The frescoes on the exterior wall were made in 1420 and are worth a second glance. They show us the legend of the Christian princess Catherine of Alexandria.
An unique group of holy buildings is standing on Mount Calvary, also called Kofel/Colle at Kastelruth/Castelrotto. From the village a path leads among porphyry rocks and beautiful nature. Several chapels line the pilgrimage, which ends at the Roman tower. The seven chapels show pictures of Jesus and his mother, the Mount of Olives, the scourging, crowning with thorns and the handwashing and the Entombment. (Nice walk - 20 minutes)
Around 1200 the ruins of Rasen ( Neurasen und Altrasen ) were habitation and court of the sires of Rasen.
The Rasun Nuova Castle in Oberrasen is privately owned and belongs to the Burgfrieder farm.